horizontal line

Lefebure is one of the most characterful, captivating pianists of the last century, and many of her recordings have trickled out on to the market over the years, but never before so comprehensively or handsomely-presented. She is best known for a richly-conceived Mozart K466 with Furtwängler (included here), but the current set provides an unreleased alternative from four years later under Dervaux, as well as multiple versions of concertos by Schumann and Ravel and Beethoven sonatas. Much else here is unreleased: a fine Ravel G major under Ansermet, solo Ravel and a winningly unsentimental Schubert C minor sonata. While not cheap, there is much wonderful playing here in mostly good sound, in a set that is definitely worth the investment.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing