horizontal line

Viktoria Mullova has taken to period instruments like a duck to water. Following her enjoyable recordings of Bach’s Sonatas for harpsichord and violin and unaccompanied Sonatas and Partitas comes another, this one of concertos. Along with the two violin concertos in A minor and E major, which have been preserved in their original form, are two others which harpsichordist and director Ottavio Dantone has arranged for violin (BWV 1053), and violin and harpsichord (BWV 1060). Bach himself was no stranger to the art of arrangement, and it might well be that these versions could have won from him at least a qualified nod of approval. The concerto for violin is the more convincing of the two and the sensitive playing of its lyrical Siciliano is a high point in an interesting, well-executed programme.

Nicholas Anderson Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Early Music Today, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing