horizontal line

This varied and enjoyable disc from married duo Bax and Chung is notable mainly for Stravinsky’s own four-hand transcription of Petrushka, heard here in a remarkably affectionate performance. The opening of the Shrovetide Fair is misty, almost Impressionist. This is an intelligent reading, ever aware of the linear element and highlighting strands impeccably. Rhythm, so vital here, is well disciplined. While the imitations of the drum remain unconvincing, this is a minor matter in a performance as vital as this. The Brahms brings great contrast, and the players accord it great warmth, in terms of both tone and spirit. The miraculously beautiful shading of No 7 (C sharp minor) demands mention. The set of four Piazzolla Tangos offer a fun and stylish way to close the recital.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing