horizontal line

Finnophiles, the newly betrothed and curiosity seekers will find much to enjoy in this two-disc compendium of music composed for church weddings that serves up a veritable seisova pöytä (smorgasbord) of 49 festive pieces – more than half of which are making their debut on disc – by 28 Finnish composers. Marrying (appropriately enough) solemnity and celebration, it’s a recital full of charm, a refreshing absence of saccharine sentimentality, and really rather moving at times in the sincerity of expression of many of the featured works. Jan Lehtola plays each and all with obvious admiration for the lightly worn craftsmanship on display.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing