horizontal line

The mild, baroque-tinged pipes of Tomaš Mocnik’s II/45 organ built in 2007 for the church of Our Lady in Adergas proves a sympathetic choice for this selection of new works from seven composers – five Americans, a Swede and one Slovakian – each of which casts an admiring glance back towards the economy and modality of early music. Of particular note are Peter Machajdík’s meditative On the Seven Colors of Light, the striking fusion of medieval and renaissance influences in Patricia Van Ness’s Pastoral Suite (Seven Prayers), and Thomas Åberg’s characterful Fantasy in A minor. Fine performances from Carson Cooman treat each with a requisite delicacy of expression.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing