horizontal line

Jean-Pierre Leguay’s fascination with ‘the alchemy of sound’ finds ample expression here in six works from more than four decades that elegantly blend permutations of brass, percussion and organ. The one-time student of Messiaen proves an eloquent exponent of his own music, biting into Granit’s often gritty discourse between organ and pairs of trumpets and trombones, nimbly negotiating written score and improvisatory commentary on the self-accompanied four-hand Capriccio, and effusively dexterous in the ecstatic interplay between trumpet and organ in Péan II. The 19-minute Péan I – a remarkable piece for organ, marimba, three trombones and percussion – is infused with the exotica of Tibetan chanting and expansiveness of Messiaen and is played with wholly engaging conviction.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing