horizontal line

The fresh-voiced, evenly balanced Convivium Singers are completely at home in this disc of music by Jonathan Dove. Composed in memory of Dove’s mother, The Passing of the Year brings together a Brittenesque anthology of poems by Blake, Dickinson, Peele, Nashe and Tennyson. At just shy of 25 minutes, it is a major contribution to Dove’s ever-expanding catalogue of distinctive and approachable choral pieces, here given a committed reading by Ferris. The remainder of the programme comprises shorter a cappella items, which includes the carol The Three Kings, a setting of a poem by Dorothy L. Sayers, commissioned by King’s College, Cambridge, in 2000. An excellent introduction to Dove’s distinctive and highly approachable work.

PHILIP REED Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing