horizontal line

A rather stunning French programme contains the Second Symphony of Widor followed by individual pieces from Guilmant (Caprice), Franck (Pièce héroïque), Vierne (Naïades), Saint-Saëns (Prélude et fugue in E), Duruflé (Scherzo) and Dupré (last movement from Invocation). The IV/85 Walcker/Sauer organ speaks with a French accent into generous but not overwhelming acoustics. Hielscher’s playing is assured and colourfully registered throughout, and the more demanding the music (Vierne, for example), the better it seems. Highly enjoyable!

MATTHEW POWER Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing