horizontal line

This fifth volume in Tactus’s complete Bossi survey is arguably the best yet, Andrea Macinanti offering authoritative performances of eight works, including the first two Sonatas (opp. 60 & 71) – prime displays of Bossi’s tonal variety, command of melody and control of rhythm, and, not least, his facility for contrasting scale of execution with intimacy of expression. The op.115 Tema e variazioni delivers one scene-stealing virtuosic effect after another; the second of the two op.49 Scherzos wears its spirited improvisational leanings with a delectable lightness of execution. Macinanti’s own booklet notes are informative and illuminating.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing