horizontal line

This latest volume of cantatas is drawn from the Leipzig cycles from 1726-29: BWV 149 (Michaelmas, 1728), BWV 145 (Easter Day, 1729), BWV 174 (Whitsun, 1729), and BWV 49 (20th Sunday after Trinity, 1726). Suzuki’s Dutch training is amply in evidence in terms of tempi, articulation and the vitality with which these performances abound. The (European) soloists – Hana Blazíkova (soprano), Robin Blaze (counter-tenor), Gerd Türk (tenor) and Peter Kooij (bass) – are well-suited to the repertoire and give good focused performances. I enjoyed hearing the reworking of Brandenburg 3 as the opening of Cantata 174, and many other treasures are herein revealed.

DAVID PONSFORD Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing