horizontal line

These are palpably young voices, but deliver weight and maturity throughout this excellent survey. They relish the ostinati of Vaclovas Augustinas’s Tau Bet Kokios Sutemos Šviesios and Mindaugas Urbaitis’s Lacrimosa, which both hint at ‘Lithuanian minimalism’. Mike Brewer has a defttouch with musical space on the Latvian Peteris Plakidis’s five-movement choral symphony and a choir concerto Svjatki by Galina Grigorjeva, a naturalised Estonian. Best of all is Gabriel Jackson’s summative Cantus Maris Baltici (he also writes the excellent liner notes), a musical picture of the brackish Baltic and its fringe of tiny, east-facing nations.

BRIAN MORTON Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing