horizontal line

Here the accomplished Fairhaven Singers display their vocal virtuosity and musicianship effectively. The disc includes seven diverse settings of the liturgical text of Ave Maria, from Parson’s anthem, Rachmaninoff’s richly fervent approach and Bruckner’s exuberant setting to Stravinsky, Villa-Lobos, and Chilcott’s gently pensive piece. But it is Lukaszewski who throws all caution to the wind: using only the words ‘Ave Maria’ and ‘Amen’, the composer conjures up a stunningly ecstatic tribute. Also on the disc are Victoria’s uplifting Alma Redemptoris Mater, Jan Sandström’s harmonically weaving Es ist ein’ Ros’ entsprungen, and Rautavaara’s multi-layered Canticum Mariae Virginis. Very enjoyable.

SHIRLEY RATCLIFFE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing