horizontal line

Comparing the years 1717 and 1733, the disc sets out to dispel the adage that Vivaldi wrote the same concerto 400 times. An uncomplicated and pleasing mix of lyric beauty and agility represents the first period with opera arias and the Grosso Mogul (RV208) concerto. Then move forward 16 years to the two violin concertos in B flat and C major, and we find him employing just about every ‘trick of the trade’ known at the time. Using period instruments, La Serenissima give highly effective performances, Chandler’s fingers and bow flying around his instrument with the same dexterity and impeccable intonation as that shown by the silvery voice of Sally Bruce-Payne. Excellent and well-balanced sound; strongly recommended.

David Denton Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Early Music Today, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing