horizontal line

Margaret Phillips presents a survey of largely tonal contemporary music for organ, ranging from Sebastian Forbes’s spiky works from around 1970, via Lionel Rogg’s well-known partita on ‘Nun freut euch’ to some groovy Dutch minimalism from Ad Wammes and Zwolle organist Toon Hagen. The highlight is the other offering from Lionel Rogg, his Hommage à Franz Liszt, composed in 2011. Rogg brilliantly captures Liszt’s mercurial musical personality but views it through an entirely personal filter. Margaret Phillips is at her best in this repertoire and plays brilliantly, but the organ, although in the repertoire to which it should be best suited, disappoints: 62 stops, squeezed into Bodley’s case at the expense of the mechanical action to the solo and the couplers, sporting a modern console but with reversed coloured keys and typified by blaring, characterless reeds… if only something cleverer, more lovely had been attempted.

CHRIS BRAGG Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing