horizontal line

Following in the footsteps of Bach himself and in those of the ‘Nieuwe Kerk Amsterdam’ tradition (De Graaf in the 18th century, Winsemius in the 20th and 21st), Italian Radulescu disciple Daniele Boccaccio produces interesting and convincing organ transcriptions of baroque instrumental concertos. His chosen subject matter could not have set the bar any higher: Bach’s concertos for violin BWV 1041 and 1042 and the concerto for two violins BWV 1043. Making use of the composer’s own reworkings of these pieces for keyboard soloist (and adopting his revised keys), Boccaccio performs with energy and virtuosity; his scores are obviously technically challenging and were clearly a labour of love, both in terms of finding convincing technical solutions and in terms of ‘internalising’ them physically. The double violin concerto becomes, in its concertino passages, a trio sonata; what could be more organ-ic? Occasionally I find Boccaccio’s pedal (continuo) a little ‘stompy’ and his pulse has a tendency to fall forward slightly in the (often very) quick outer movements. Nevertheless, this is a thoroughly enjoyable disc on an attractive-sounding modern Italian organ, and at budget price, it is well worth buying.

CHRIS BRAGG Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing