horizontal line

A tireless advocate for neglected composers, Kremer makes an ideal champion for Mieczysław Weinberg, and here presents a welcome selection from the Polish-born composer’s most approachable works. The 20-minute third Sonata for solo violin opens the programme and immediately grasps the listener by the throat. Chamber works and a moving Concertino for violin and orchestra also make a very strong impression; but the key work here is the little-heard tenth symphony, both intensely moving and tightly organised. Hugely recommended.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing