horizontal line

If Norway was perhaps not, as the booklet suggests, Delius’s ‘spiritual home’, its landscape and folk music did infuse come of his most appealing works, here collected in a generous programme in superb surround sound. Davis paces this music perfectly, allowing each piece to unfold naturally, and his Norwegian players respond as if to the manner born. Well-known pieces such as Sleigh Ride and On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring are exemplary, while On The Mountains (after Ibsen) and incidental music to political comedy The People’s Parliament make for fascinating listening.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing