horizontal line

Three major scores, spanning more than 30 years and released to celebrate Alexander Goehr’s 80th birthday this year. The Deluge was an early success, followed a few years later by the elegiac ‘Little’ symphony which is anything but. The Goya-inspired Colossos or Panic, by contrast, is from the nineties and shows how vividly the composer can respond to a specific image, and how masterfully he manages a vast sonic canvas. Definitive performances in excellent sound. Urgently recommended.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing