horizontal line

Pott gets marks for courage in seeking to fuse English renaissance polyphonic structure with 21st-century harmonies in his eight-part Mass. The result is distinctive rather than derivative. The interpolated smaller scale works, serving as Mass Propers, contrast well – particularly the swirling Lament – and performances are engaging.

PHILLIP SOMMERICH Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing