horizontal line

Though known as the ‘London’ Bach, these two large-scale sacred works by the youngest of J.S. Bach’s sons date from his time in Italy before his migration to England, during which period he studied with the fabled Padre Martini and served as organist of Milan cathedral. The Requiem consists of only the Introitus, Kyrie and Sequence, the last of which is divided into 12 movements; in a way, this suits the refined and sombre feel of the whole work, which does not have the fiery, driven power of Mozart’s setting (although this is in no way to its detriment). The Miserere is the more heartfelt of the two works, with some achingly beautiful choral and solo writing. Soprano Lenneke Ruiten is (by a whisker) prima inter pares in a first-rate quartet of soloists, and the choir and orchestra are excellent throughout.

Adrian Horsewood Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Early Music Today, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing