horizontal line

Ton Koopman suggests in his liner notes that the soubriquet for this most recent record in his complete Buxtehude series could be ‘unknown’. If that is the case these eight sacred concertos deserve to be better celebrated. Buxtehude’s contemplative, sophisticated ensemble music, beautifully rendered by Koopman and his players, gives equal prominence to vocal and instrumental parts, and the two are expertly balanced. Bedenke Mensch das Ende BUXWV 9, for two sopranos and bass, is the outstanding piece of the set, with lyrical, dramatic vocal sections interspersed with a keening string theme. Of the excellent cast of seven soloists, soprano Miriam Meyer is exceptional with an engaging, insightful performance of BUXWV 39, Herr, wenn ich nur habe (II).

Tim Woodall Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Early Music Today, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing