horizontal line

The musical members of the Bach family spanned a period of 200 years, the most talented of J.S. Bach’s forebears being Johann Christoph (1642-1703). He became known in family circles as a profound composer. Two of the pieces are in the character of laments, while two others are motets for five-strand vocal texture. Two further works are cast as dialogues with two arias reflecting upon death completing the programme. The performances are expressive and stylish, paying close attention to affective textual declamation. The masterly lament ‘Ach, dass ich Wassers g’nug hätte’ has become an almost unassailable preserve of counter-tenors so it is gratifying to hear it sung by an alto of Clare Wilkinson’s calibre. An expressively multi-layered but essentially grief-laden disc sung and played with fervour.

Nicholas Anderson Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Early Music Today, 2011 - ©Rhinegold Publishing