horizontal line

These two discs of Mozart’s solo keyboard works, first issued separately in 2003 and 2005, make a happy coupling; Andreas Staier plays throughout with deft, improvisatory flair on a modern copy of a c1785 Walter fortepiano. Its light, clear tone suits his nimble touch and abets his friskier moments, such as a mischievous update of the Rondo alla turca. While the first disc includes the neo-baroque Suite in C major, K399 and the Variations in G major, K455 (on a theme by Gluck), the substantial items on this set are the sonatas: K282, K330-32 and K457, with its attendant Fantasia in C minor, K475. There’s no hint of proto-Romantic baggage; outer movements are brisk, crisply articulated and bracing, the inner laced with a filigree tenderness. Staier sounds much like I imagine Mozart did: speedy, animated, smiling; always looking to make the music more expressive.

GRAHAM LOCK Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing