horizontal line

Matteo Napoli’s second Galuppi disc offers a further seven sonatas by one of the 18th century’s most prolific keyboard composers. The aria-like slow movements are generally very appealing, their unruffl ed galant charm best exemplified here by the lovely Cantabile opening to the E flat major Sonata (Illy 24). However, its adjacent Allegro moderato, bold and ingenious, is rather the exception among the faster movements, which tend to bustle about in repetitive and predictable patterns. The D minor Sonata (Illy 56) is given a far more expressive reading by Andrea Bacchetti on his Galuppi disc (RCA), where he lingers lovingly over the Andantino and zips through the Presto with tremendous panache.

GRAHAM LOCK Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing