horizontal line

Hyperion’s magnificent Romantic Piano Concerto series continues apace with this coupling of Brazilian and Portuguese concertos. Fittingly, Portuguese pianist Artur Pizarro is the soloist, and he makes the most convincing case possible for these two fine works. Henrique Oswald’s concerto dates from around 1886, the year he met Liszt – yet the Gallic hand in this piano writing puts it closer to Saint-Säens. The writing is always fluent, as is Pizarro’s delivery. Alfredo Napoleão’s Second Concerto (of four) is rather more Chopin-influenced. Pizarro studied early on in life with the pianist who gave the premiere of this piece, and his staunch championing enables the work to emerge as a gem, the seriousness of its opening giving way to the Mendelssohnian lightness of the central Scherzo and the fun, almost slapstick finale.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing