horizontal line

Japanese/Swiss organist Kei Koito continues her Bach survey on historic organs with a visit to the renowned Schnitger/Hinsz/Ahrend organ at the Martinikerk in Groningen. In doing so she joins a long line of distinguished players to have made Bach recordings there since the organ’s restoration in the early 1980s (Hurford, Koopman, Van Beek, Kee, Alain, Foccroulle, Rübsam, Kooiman, Weinberger etc). Koito’s playing, and especially her treatment of the organ, is idiosyncratic; a ‘cantabile’ sense of touch and phrasing, so necessary on a large historic organ in a big room, is nowhere to be found. The result, with many abrupt accents on the smallest note values and a lack of line in general, jars with the monumental repertoire (BWV 582, 547, 767) as do the frequently unlikely registrations. Koito includes a transcription of her own, in this case the Adagio in E flat from the BWV 1017 C minor Violin Sonata – a lovely idea but the Bovenwerk Sesquialtera, beautiful though it is, hardly screams ‘imitatio violistica’…

CHRIS BRAGG Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing