horizontal line

Three English composers who were unfashionably lyrical last century delight us now. Michael Hurd’s sonata for violin and piano and five piano preludes have beguiling warmth, while Robin Milford’s music echoes his inner melancholy. But it is Dick Blackford’s recorder concerto that takes the instrument beyond the ‘merrie England’ cliché.

PHILLIP SOMMERICH Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2011 - ©Rhinegold Publishing