horizontal line

Nothing to do with Liszt studies: transcendence here means mystic, serene and reflective. Surreal, too, as underlined by the Dali-esque artwork and inclusion of two John Cage pieces from 1948, using modal scales with notes missing. The better-known Scriabin interludes provide what concept- creator Ivan Ilić considers links from all these composers back to Chopin. He plays them with exquisite touch and without histrionics. At only 23 minutes, the Morton Feldman is, by Feldman’s standards, concise: his Second Quartet lasts six hours! Palais de Mari is a good introduction to this composer. Interestingly, there is also a piece by Feldman’s ‘grand-pupil’ Scott Wollschleger (born Pennsylvania, 1980). Part of the manuscript is reproduced in the booklet note.

MICHAEL ROUND Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing