horizontal line

Chronicling a fascinating yet neglected period in the conductor’s output, this set contains Martinon’s complete recordings for Philips between 1953 and 1956. Mozart is stylish, Falla exciting (a wonderful El amor brujo); yet best of all is his Roussel, the suites from Le festin de l’araignee and Bacchus et Ariane, full of freshness or virtuosity. Good, clear mono sound.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing