horizontal line

An intelligent and generous programme centred on the 1942 anthology commissioned by Boosey & Hawkes to celebrate the anniversary of Paderewski’s first American tour; a collection that turned into a tribute after his untimely death. Characteristic works from Milhaud, Martinů and Arthur Benjamin are highlights; and Britten’s Mazurka elegiaca (confusingly for two pianos) receives an ideal performance in which

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2011 - ©Rhinegold Publishing