horizontal line

The modest-sized (II/26) though arrestingly forceful Cavaillé-Coll of Saint-Hippolyte in Poligny is not far from the Swiss border, where clean air has preserved its tone with crystal clarity. It presents the final volume in a comprehensive series of Saint-Saëns’s œuvre (vols. 2 and 3) plus transcriptions (vol.1). Here are short and single works spanning the composer’s life and a rewarding collection too, played with verve and understanding. Brooks’s scholarly and entertaining sleeve notes complement this most listenable collection. There are lesser-known treasures here to discover.

MATTHEW POWER Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing