horizontal line

The imposing march that opens Oskar Lindberg’s 1924 sonata sets the bar for this absorbing programme of works drawn from a highly creative decade, and is exemplary in its form and lyricism. Messiaen’s Le banquet céleste and Duruflé’s Scherzo are subtly rendered. It is the Toccata in E minor (Hans Gál), at 15 minutes’ duration more of a tone poem, and Commotio (Carl Nielsen) which are of significance here. Christian Wilson, previously organ scholar at Christ Church, Oxford, now organist at HM Chapels Royal, Tower of London, plays with assurance and style, allowing the music to speak eloquently through the medium of this IV/72 symphonic instrument.

MATTHEW POWER Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing