horizontal line

Like Prospero’s isle, this disc is full of ‘sounds and sweet airs’ played on ‘twangling instruments’; not a thousand, though, just three – all examples of the early keyboards on which Luca Guglielmi is an expert performer. He shares the limelight here with copies of a 1726 Cristofori fortepiano, a 1749 Silbermann fortepiano and a 1784 Hubert clavichord. He employs the Silbermann for six of the disc’s eight works – a reasonable choice, given that Bach played a Silbermann. Both fortepianos possess a range of seductive timbres, their mellow, soft-edged charm further enhanced by Guglielmi’s adoption of the Bach-Lehman temperament. He plays Bach’s early Toccata in C minor, BWV 911, on the Cristofori; and the Sonata in A minor, BWV 1003 – originally composed for solo violin – on the clavichord, as we know Bach did, where it sounds very attractive.

GRAHAM LOCK Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing