horizontal line

Three reflective modern pieces on the theme of pilgrimage and philosophical travel. Gabriel Jackson’s title piece is a reflection on the Way of St James to Santiago de Compostela (the ‘campus stellae’) and concentrates less on the road below than on the starry sky above. Seven movements are separated by choral refrains and cello envois. Exquisite, transformative music that remains intensely human even as it ascends: hence, in the fourth movement, Walt Whitman’s finding the divine in the ordinary, or – in the seventh – the murmured star names, our way of making the celestial human-scaled. The pieces by Hans Schanderl and Enrico Miaroma are similarly themed, and to texts by Rabindranath Tagore. All three are beautifully sung by the Stockholm choir, for whom St James/S:t Jacob is a guiding spirit.

BRIAN MORTON Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing