horizontal line

This is one of the more uneven discs in Ronald Brautigam’s consistently inconsistent series of Mozart piano concertos. It opens with a splendid performance of K451’s majestic Allegro assai, all flair and flamboyance; but for much of the remainder of the disc Brautigam sounds curiously disengaged, and at times seems to hurry the music along as if impatient for it to end. This happens in the two Andantes, where he shows little inclination to linger over the tender nuances of touch that would help the music’s inherent poetry to take shape. He even dashes through K450’s popular hunting rondo, in marked contrast to the skipping tempo and sense of fun that Malcolm Bilson, for example, brings to this movement. Michael Alexander Willens draws a sensitive performance from his Die Kölner Akademie musicians, who play with delightful finesse.

GRAHAM LOCK Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing