horizontal line

Released in honour of Keith Jarrett’s 70th birthday, Creation comprises nine improvisations taken from his live solo concerts last year in Paris, Rome, Tokyo and Toronto. Jarrett, who selected and sequenced the music, has eschewed any notion of a celebratory birthday disc, opting instead for a series of low-key, even dark, ruminative pieces. Part I sounds almost funereal, with its slow, tolling chords, while the last three selections seem mired in a fitful search for inspiration that never quite arrives. Parts II through VI do offer glimpses of a lighter mood, with Parts II, V and VI in particular suffused with a consoling, if rather diffident, melodicism. However, the romantic bravura and pealing lyricism that normally characterise Jarrett’s music remain curiously muted here.

GRAHAM LOCK Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing