horizontal line

The title of this disc is simply misleading, with the three French pieces being some of the most unassertive examples of the repertoire of Dupré, Alain and Messiaen. What one actually finds here is a splendid collection of rather poetic pieces. Oskar Linberg’s G minor Sonata gives Massey the opportunity to explore some of the most intimate sounds of Durham’s fine Harrison & Harrison organ. There is bravura to be found in York Bowen’s dramatic Fantasia and in the rousing conclusion to Francis Pott’s fine work Empyrean.

RUPERT GOUGH Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing