horizontal line

The definitive celebration of this most refined of composers who died last year. Barenboim’s accounts of the symphonies are apt and persuasive; Sacher, Rostropovich and Jukka-Pekka Saraste conduct uniformly powerful and poetic readings of his other key orchestral scores; and Joy (the composer’s late wife) is our peerless guide through the piano music. Worth many times the modest price.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing