horizontal line

Captured in stunning, vital sound, Ronald Brautigam gives stylish, involved performances of three Mozart piano concertos that deserve more frequent airings. The instrument used is a Paul McNulty 2013 fortepiano, after a c1802 Walter und Sohn. Presenting the concertos in reverse numerical order means that K415, possibly the best known of the three here, comes first. Fresh as a daisy, contrasts are visceral: fortes can be buzzily punchy; contrasting passages are the height of gentillesse. Here, as throughout, the orchestra offers constant delight. Brautigam’s use of agogic accents is kept just within Mozartian boundaries, yet he remains freely expressive. He finds unexpected depths in the finale of K246, while the central Larghetto of K413 is beautifully, eerily disembodied. Recommended.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing