horizontal line

A truly beautiful account of the Brahms, poised and utterly committed, with bewitching orchestral support: not since Isabelle Faust’s account with Daniel Harding (Harmonia Mundi, 2011) has this work seemed so fresh and so moving. Faust’s coupling was the G major sextet; Jansen’s is a bolder choice, but in Bartók’s neglected first concerto she finds just as perfect a vehicle for her heartfelt lyricism. excellent sound, especially the live Roman Brahms.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing