horizontal line

It is a miracle that the current disc can be heard at all: the 1978 RCA master tapes were in a poor state and much forensic care was needed for the sound to be as fine as it is. McCabe had a natural feeling for this music and all 24 miniatures are finely characterised: the ‘Night Ride’ is as scary as any Erlkönig, and ‘Jon Vaestafae’s Spring Dance’ is destined to be this year’s most insidious earworm. A most rewarding venture, highly recommended.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing