horizontal line

Prokofiev’s Second and Fifth Piano Concertos make curiously odd bedfellows. The Second (1916) is a heavyweight symphonic statement of unbridled, slightly self-defeating, virtuosity; the Fifth (1932) is brittle, pared down, challenging albeit less exhausting to play. Khodolenko seems more at home with No 5, in a straightforward, brilliant interpretation with plenty of drive. In No 2, stretched to his limits, he lacks that last ounce of assurance one hears from Wang, Kempf or Bavouzet. The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra accompanies nicely throughout in a spacious acoustic but does sound a touch recessed. They have an undoubtedly American tang to their playing and it would be good to hear them in some American repertoire.

GUY RICKARDS Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing