horizontal line

This disc speaks of cross-fertilisations and borrowings, through which runs the spirit of Ives (whose music is not actually included). Coleman’s own booklet notes are exemplary, as is the terrific programming, which tells of how diverse styles penetrate jazz and ragtime.

Chopin’s Fourth Ballade is shaped well without challenging any of the greats. The Bach/Hess Jesu, joy of man’s desiring steals in perfectly thereafter, while the Lecuona and Cervantes Cuban Dances are nicely rhythmic. Perhaps the Bach Largo (BWV1056) is a touch clumsy. Both Bolcom and Albright were Coleman’s mentors: The Lost Lady Rag (Bolcom) is an eight-minute ragtime aria, lovely and restrained; Allbright’s Sleepwalker’s Shuffle is gentle and sophisticated. Klonek’s Veni Creator Spritus Boogie, written for Coleman, is superb.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing