horizontal line

Vadym Kholodenko’s most adventurous disc to date features works by two living composers: Evgeni Chaplygin’s Little Cyprian Music (2003) and Alexei Kurbatov’s Lost in Darkness (2014). Intriguing as these are, the main events are a nicely balanced account of Balakirev’s late Sonata, relaxed and fiery as needed, and a Tchaikovsky rarity, Six Pieces on a Single Theme (1873) – a mix of variation set and suite, encompassing prelude and fugue, impromptu, Dies irae-infused funeral march, mazurka and scherzo. The whole programme is splendidly played, with fine sound. The downloadable version includes Kholodenko’s transcription of Mahler’s Nachtmusik (Seventh Symphony) and Purcell’s Ground in C minor.

GUY RICKARDS Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing