horizontal line

This collection of original compositions and arrangements (by Saint-Saëns himself) is a delight from start to finish. An early duettino, the polonaise and the scherzo from the 1880s are all major works, rubbing shoulders with arrangements of the early tarantelle and even a couple of movements from the well-known septet. The clarity four hands (not to mention the quality of these performances) bring to every note is most rewarding, as is the fact that a second volume has already been announced.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing