horizontal line

Shelves are beginning to groan under the accumulated weight of complete Reger surveys, this fourth volume completing Bernhard Buttmann’s 16-disc traversal. Taking centre stage here are the Suite no.2, Introduction, Passacaglia & Fugue, and D minor Phantasie and Fugue (opp. 72, 127 and 135b respectively), although the op.129 Neun Stücke make their own claim for attention on the wholly sympathetic III/53 Link organ of Ulm’s Pauluskirche. Buttmann’s tone too often errs on the side of reverence, a quality not helped by acoustics that sound somewhat distant in quieter moments, reverberant in louder passages. Even so, committed Regerians will want to add this to their shelves.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing