horizontal line

Despite an 11-disc survey on Tactus, Marco Enrico Bossi’s organ music remains relatively overlooked in the catalogue, making this generous two-disc compendium of 23 works from Paul Derrett a welcome addition. Included is the familiar G minor Scherzo, the chromatically rich Concert Piece in C minor, the Étude Symphonique’s breakneck, high-wire virtuosity and vividly contrasted Theme and Variations. Among the shorter pieces, the hushed Hora Mystica, tender Ave Maria and harmonically daring Marcia di Processione all offer something to satisfy. Derrett plays with obvious conviction, the English romantic accents of Bristol Cathedral’s organ adding its own pleasing commentary on varied and often intensely emotional music.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing