horizontal line

The short pieces on this disc showcase the piano music of Paul Burnell, a composer who has written in a variety of styles, including experimental rock and post- punk. The first piece, Pacer No 3, immediately implies minimalist tendencies, while Just Before Dawn is more Feldman-like in its paucity of utterance. Though the language is stripped down, the Three Plain Pieces (2009) are nevertheless involving. It may have been is divided into two parts, the second of which is like droplets of water forming very welcoming harmonic pools. The Evanescences examine different ways music can fade into the distance: there is clearly an active mind at work in these concepts (try also the geologically-inspired Matrices). An effective drone is used in 2 Ping, while Standing in the Rain has an (acknowledged) debt to Reich. Fascinating music, well performed.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2016 - ©Rhinegold Publishing