horizontal line

A generous programme of encores – even those selected, arranged or even composed by so strong a character as Mstislav Rostropovich – might seem bitty. But Gerhard is so persuasive, and the disc planned with so much care, that listeners may be startled to realise they have just listened to the entire disc. Unsurprisingly, there is much Russian music – Prokofiev, Rachmaninov and Stravinsky all appear more than once – but Debussy, Ravel, Chopin and Sinding all contribute to a varied and imaginative sequence. Gerhardt is at his very best here, more than a match for his mentor, ably matched by Becker and with superb Hyperion sound.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing