horizontal line

Evocative and beautifully realised, this is a terrifically life-enhancing collection of folk arrangements by the pianist Barry Douglas,. Eimear McGeown is a superb Irish flautist, and her own medley that kicks off the collection is absolutely beautiful.

Wistful melodies are inevitable in compilations such as this: Brendan’s Air is a soulful thing of beauty, while Douglas’ solo piano take on The Foggy Dew rises to a Rachmaninov-like, granitic climax. Some arrangements allow Douglas’ virtuosity to fly (The Fields of Athenry). But it is the sounds of Chris Stout’s fiddle and Catriona McKay’s Scottish harp that give the collection its flavour of authenticity.

A companion to the Chandos disc Celtic Reflections, also featuring Eimear McGeown, this is a highly atmospheric release.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing